The Leicester Mercury Sports Awards

The Leicester Mercury Sports Awards

The Leicester Mercury Sports Awards are Leicestershire's major annual celebration of extraordinary amateur and professional sporting talent within the region. 

Run by Champions (UK) plc in conjunction with the Leicester Mercury since 2012, the awards celebrate the finest achievements by individuals and teams across all sports. Designed to encourage particpation in sport through celebrating the very best sporting achievements everywhere, the awards are given out in a very special ceremony attended by sporting VIPs and special celebrity guests.

All the action and events of the awards are generously covered in the Leicester Mercury in full colour features both in the lead up to and after the awards ceremony itself. Categories in the Leicester Mercury Sports Awards include Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach / Manager of the Year, Club of the Year, Young Sportsman of the Year, Young Sportswoman of the Year, Lifetime Achievement Award, Community Award and Active4Life Award.   

Community is a vital aspect of The Leicester Mercury Sports Awards, acknowledging the impact that sport can have on the community. The awards are designed to celebrate not only high achieving sportspeople from the region but also the people who help to support and nurture their talent, enabling them to grow and become stars of the present or stars of the future. 

Having taken place at Welford Road, home of the Leicester Tigers on 17th January, the awards were presented in a lavish ceremony by snooker legend Willie Thorne and weather presenter Emma Jesson, with a whole host of special guest presenters to give out the awards to the lucky winners. These presnters include leading sports stars such as Peter Shilton OBE, Gary Wolstenholme MBE, Joe Egan, Gail Emms MBE, Derek Jelley, Matthew Hoggard MBE, Rosemary Conley, Steve Backley OBE and many more.