Derby Sports Awards showcase the city’s brightest stars

Derby Sports Awards showcase the city’s brightest stars

Derby Sports Awards

On the evening of Thursday 10 November one of the most highly anticipated events on Derby’s sporting calendar took place. Champions (UK) plc were once again brought on board to work in partnership with the Derby Telegraph to organise the annual Derby Telegraph Sports Awards.

The Roundhouse at Derby College was the perfectly selected venue which provided a unique backdrop for the ceremony. The aim for these awards are always to provide a one of a kind evening which all guests will remember forever, especially those who walk away with an award on the night.

The ceremony celebrated fourteen categories in total bringing attention to clubs, teams, managers, professionals and amateurs who have gone above and beyond their personal targets over the past twelve months. One of the categories, Lifetime Achievement Award, is always the talking point of the evening. This year the award was presented to Grand Prix motorcycle road racing legend Ron Haslam, who has contributed to the high-speed sport for over 30 years. (Full list of categories and winners below).

Following a magnificent Champagne reception and gourmet three course meal, the two hosts for the evening, Gary Newbon and Emma Jesson took to the stage to host the main event. 

Gary Newbon is best-known for his 35-year stint as host for ITV Sport. During his long and prestigious career Gary has covered seven World Cup football finals, three Olympic Games and numerous world boxing championships. ITV weather presenter Emma Jesson regularly presents at some of the UK’s biggest racecourses and regularly gets up in front of thousands of people to host some of Europe’s largest conferences and award ceremonies.

The pair worked tirelessly to ensure all guests were having a good evening and that the process ran smoothly. They also organised the guests for the various charity games that took place throughout the evening including stand up bingo. All funds raised from table sales, fundraising games and donations went to the chosen charity of the night, Rainbows Hospice for Children and Young people.

Congratulations to all of the finalists and winners – we are already looking forward to next year’s event.

Lifetime Achievement – sponsored by Derby County Football Club

Ron Haslam


Sportsman of the Year – sponsored by Derby College

Adam Peaty


Sportswoman of the Year – sponsored by Willmott Dixon

Hollie Webb


Disabled Sportsperson of the Year – sponsored by Derbyshire Sport

Lewis White


Team of the Year – sponsored by Purpose Media

Derbyshire Women’s Cricket Team


Volunteer of the Year- sponsored by Rainbows Children’s Hospice

Matthew Dalley


Manager/Coach of the Year – sponsored by Equitrade Capital

Mel Marshall


Community Award – sponsored by Smith Partnership

Long Eaton Park Run


Club of the Year – sponsored by Champions After Dinner Speakers



Service to Sport – sponsored by Fischer Future Heat  

Lesley Sturgess


Junior Team of the Year- sponsored by Jewson

The MI Racing Academy


Young Sportsman of the Year- Aspirational Magazine

David Hong


Young Sportswoman of the Year – sponsored by Mercia Image Print  

Niamh Emerson


Junior Sportsperson of the Year – sponsored by Central Health

Ella Rush